Spicy Beef Paleo Enchiladas

Posted on May 29, 2013

0


IMG_20130528_043451Sometimes I wish I had more time to spend in the kitchen or on this blog.  Sometimes, my job doesn’t allow me the freedom or energy to do such things.  I’m in that phase right now.  I’m consistently eating “on the run” which really means “lacking creativity”.  I grab a handful of chicken, throw it on top of a salad with some vinegar and call it lunch.  Being lazy with my meals makes me go into crazy crave mode… so it pays to put some time and effort into the kitchen.

One thing that’s different about the recipes I share is the majority of the time they are going to be easy and quick.  I don’t like to cook, specifically not when it’s for one and I have to do the cleanup.  Somehow, cooking becomes more manageable when you can do the whole “I cook, you clean”.  I’d cook everyday then, maybe not, but it sounds like a good excuse.  Every once in a while though, I’ll get motivated and dedicate some time to my dinner.

I wrapped some meat up in a roasted pablano pepper, drizzled some enchilada sauce on top and discovered a 20 minute(ish) plate that can be enjoyed at any time of the day.

Spicy Beef Paleo EnchiladasIMG_20130528_043602

3 Pablano Peppers

2 tsp high heat oil (I used avocado oil)

½ lb 100% Grass Fed Organic Ground Beef

1 Jalapeno

1 handful Cilantro

4 Baby Bella Mushrooms

1 Garlic Clove

1 TBS Cumin

1 tsp Sea SaltIMG_20130528_043652

1 TBS Paprika

1 TBS Chili Powder

3 TBS Enchilada Sauce (optional)

Steps to create

  1. Pre-heat oven at broil temp
  2. Drizzle and coat peppers with oil
  3. Broil until skin is charred, about 15 minutes, rotating as necessary
  4. While the peppers broil, prepare a pan with 1 tsp of high heat oilIMG_20130528_043809
  5. Chop garlic clove, add to pan
  6. Chop jalapeno pepper, add to pan
  7. Add ground beef to pan and brown
  8. Add chopped mushrooms
  9. Take the peppers of the oven and put them in a paper bag, closed for about 15 minutes
  10. Lower the oven temperature to 350 degrees20130520_173356
  11. After meat is browned, add cumin, sea salt, paprika, and chili powder
  12. Add 1 TBS of water and stir in seasonings, lower the burner to low
  13. Remove the skin, carefully create a slit open and remove the seeds
  14. Add a handful of cilantro to the meat and stir it up
  15. Place each pepper on an oven safe dish and stuff with spoonful’s of the meat mixture
  16. Drizzle with enchilada sauce or salsa and cook at 350 degrees until warm
    Serving   Size 2   peppers
    Calories 288
    Fat 10 g
    Carbs 12 g
    Protein 36 g

     

 

 

 

20130521_121614

Always make extra so you can continue to feast on a somewhat ‘fresh’ homemade meal or two the next day.  For brunch, throw an egg on top.  Alternatively, try green chili enchilada sauce. The brand I used had lower sugar in the green variation. Sure, you can make this homemade, but like I said earlier… most of the time, I’m taking the easy route when one exists.  Rarely do I use anything I don’t make from scratch, but if it’s a small amount of sauce, I’ll make an exception.  <for the lazy cooks like me>

Posted in: Healthy Recipe