Cake and a Six Pack

Posted on March 8, 2013

0


Chocolate-on-Chocolate1[1]I’ve done many of these blogs. The experiment, paleo challenges, public commitment, always a good motivator for accountability. I’m a single girl with nobody to answer to. Don’t be jealous. Wait, maybe you should be. But with every pro, there is a con. And while a lot of friends who have been by my side throughout this past decade of change might completely disagree with this comment… I don’t have a ton of accountability when it comes to really being strict on myself. Sure, I’ve lost a ton of weight and made some seriously significant life changes, all on my own without anyone holding me accountable, but truth be told, I get lazy sometimes.

I recently wrote a piece about getting out of your comfort zone to experience life called “You’ll Never Know Unless You Try”, where I challenged readers to commit to trying something new. Now what kind of a person would I be if I didn’t take the challenge on myself? I thought long and hard about what I could do. I know there are a ton of things on my bucket list right now, but I seem to be focusing any leftover energy on one thing. CrossFit.

I started at Urban WarFit at the end of August last year, so it’s been about six months. In those six months, my life has been profoundly impacted by this new obsession. I have drastically improved my physic and strength, but most importantly self-image has been positively impacted.

It’s been a long road; almost 3 years to date. I was an unhealthy 195 pounds. 50% of which was nothing but fat. Today, I am teetering around 147 pounds and 27% body fat. I went from a size 16 to a size 8. Yes, I’m half the size I was 3 years ago (I just laughed a little out loud). That’s some serious change! But undoubtedly I still can only focus on the negative when it comes to my body. Not only is it annoying to me, it’s annoying to those around me who hear me talk negatively about myself, when we both know how hard I’ve worked to get as far as I have. What CrossFit taught me is that my body is not dainty, nor will it ever be. I am thick and have heavy muscles. I lift heavy shit almost every day and I love it. I’m not meant to be a size 4, but more importantly, I’m not interested in that (of course I won’t fight it should it ever happen). Did I mention I like cake?

But now, I’m ready to get uncomfortable. Okay, I kind of already am after telling you way too much about my chubby life and poor self-image. I continue to commit because that is what needs to be done in order for me to achieve my goal. What is my goal you ask? My goal is to have a tight pack of muscles, visible to the human eye in place of where my belly is today (I’m still kind of laughing out loud). Maybe six of them are not realistic, but I’m talking about at least two, and maybe four. Then, I’ll get in my bikini with a big piece of cake warfitand take a picture for you all to see. Yep, that’s my goal. Seriously, do you know what this is going to take to get there? Unbelievable discipline that I just do not have on my own. Time to bring in the professionals.

I’m excited to be working one on one with my 7AM CrossFit coach from Urban WarFit, Cody Nations over the next 3 months. Cody is going to tell me what to eat and when to eat it. He’ll tell me what to pick up and how many times. He’ll tell me to run or hike, squat or deadlift, rest or not, but most importantly, he’ll tell me what to eat (or what not to eat which seems to be more of my problem). Together with my CrossFit training, the nutrition plan I follow over the next few months has to carve the path to my something-pack. Then, and only then, will I show you my before pictures. A belly to belly compare. Am I the only one over here laughing?

During the first 5 weeks of this sure to be exciting but sucky and starving three months, I will be participating, for my first time in the CrossFit Open. Read more about it here. I completed the first workout of the Open 13.1 and landed in 12th place for the southwest region! Wow, that makes me sound like I’m good. I’m currently in 70-something’th place (how quickly things change). Really, I’m only doing it for fun, but either way, I still get scared before we start and push myself like it matters as I’m seriously interested in seeing where I place against the world, 32 years young, and just 3 years of active living under my belt. It’s a challenge and it’s going to make me better and stronger. That’s all that matters.

shebelievedshe couldI’ll be blogging on the progress of my mind, body, and soul over the next few months as I’m ready for them to be some of the hardest. I’m excited, apprehensive, enthusiastic, and suspect about my future. I imagine it will hurt. I imagine it will suck… but I also envision it will be the most rewarding journey of the past 3 years.

So, what are you going to do to get uncomfortable? Maybe you can just re-read this and it will just happen, but seriously, I’m curious… are you challenging yourself?


