Herb, Strawberry, Lemon Healing Salad

Posted on November 26, 2012

0


With Thanksgiving coming to end, so does about a week long list of excuses to eat starch, sweets, and fats.  It certainly didn’t help the situation that I was coming off a 30 day, 100% Paleo challenge, because that gave me all the more reason to indulge.  As usual, I over indulged, even if it was just too much over too many days.  Thankfully, Urban WarFit doesn’t throw us through these challenges and forget about us.  To ensure we all stay on track and really make a lifestyle out of this, WarFit is sponsoring another challenge which started over the weekend.

I have a bit of a different goal here over the next 30 days.  Instead of sticking to a totally strict, low variety meal plan, I’m going to allow myself to play in the kitchen.  I miss discovering new dishes, especially when they are full of amazing benefits.

I recently rediscovered Food Matters, a great film whose title really says it all and follows everything I believe in.  Food does matter.  Our body uses the food we intake as a means for energy, but also to extract nutrients that we can use to rebuild our insides.  It’s truly fascinating and I love learning about the benefits before eating something.  Not only does it make it delicious, but it helps build a connection between the importances of making the right choices when it comes to meal time.  Sure, this is significant when trying to mold our physical bodies, but we must remember how essential nutrition is for our insides. 

I’ll be spending this 30 day Paleo Challenge playing in the kitchen, but staying in the guidelines that will continue to bring me success towards my physical goals.  Remember, just because it’s Paleo, doesn’t mean it doesn’t have fat and calories.

I was really excited to try this recipe.  It took me about 2 hours to prepare (give or take 30 – 60 minutes for amateur chef skills) but it was totally worth it.  It was way more delicious than I expected, and above all, the health benefits are incredible.  I realize herb salad isn’t for everyone, but I highly encourage you to give this a try.  I’m looking forward to having it in the rotation regularly, though I might reduce the olive oil to keep it a lower fat option.

Ingredients*

(serves 4)

1 bunch flat parsley

1 bunch cilantro

1 bunch mint

2 inch piece of ginger

1 lemon

1 garlic clove

1/4  tsp sea salt

2 cup strawberries

1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil

*All ingredients 100% Organic and non-GMO

Directions

  1. Rinse and dry all ingredients
  2. Loosely chop parsley, cilantro, mint – set aside
  3. Slice strawberries – set aside
  4. Mince garlic
  5. Juice ginger (about 2 tsp) *
  6. Juice lemon
  7. Add garlic, ginger, lemon juice, sea salt, olive oil to a small container and shake vigorously
  8. Drizzle dressing over mixed herbs and toss
  9. Add strawberries and toss
  10. Serve immediately

*I highly recommend pulling the juicer out if you have one, if not, you can mince it and squeeze it by hand.  This took forever, and was really not efficient.(see 2 hour prep time above)

Benefits

  • Cilantro – used to remove heavy metals from the body by loosening them from the blood, tissues and organs.  Helps with the digestive track.  Increases LDL while decreasing HDL cholesterol
  • Parsley – Antioxidant.  Anti-cancer.  Good source of potassium, calcium, manganese, iron, and magnesium, vitamin A, beta carotene, vitamin C, vitamin, E, vitamin K.
  • Ginger – Improves absorption of essential nutrients, anti-inflammatory, anti-congestion
  • Garlic –  promotes heart health, lowers blood pressure, lowers LDL cholesterol, increases HDL cholesterol, stimulates production of nitric oxide (aka, helps your blood vessels relax) – which means, it can reduce the risk of heart attack or stroke
  • Lemons – antibacterial, antiviral, immune boosting, liver cleaner

Okay, after learning just a few of the benefits of this salad, how can you tell me you don’t want to try it.  Besides that, it’s delicious, and I’m glad I made extra!  Enjoy!

 

Posted in: Healthy Recipe