Please. Give Me A Burrito.

Posted on November 4, 2012

0


I need some Mexican food.  It’s been a little over two weeks since I enjoyed bean burritos and/or any type of Mexican food.  I’m envisioning bean and rice non-GMO verified chips, with pinto beans, tomatoes, scallions, jalapenos, my homemade, best in the world guac.  Seriously, I’m not even craving the cheese (who know as a self-proclaimed cheese lover, I actually don’t want cheese anymore, weird!!!)   So, without the cheese, why can’t I have this *stomps feet like a child.

There are just two short weeks left in the paleo challenge, and I’m not even kidding, I’m tempted to cheat, maybe just because of this one little stupid bean craving I’m having.  I’m not one for cheating though, so it was necessary to spend my Saturday night coming up with an alternative.  Luckily, when I am desperate enough, my creative juices get flowing.  I was able to make an awesome dinner that only would have been made better, admittedly, with some ground beef.

For those of you that don’t know, I practice Pescetarianism.  Sounds religious, but it’s not.  I don’t eat meat (cow, chicken, pig), but I do eat fish, dairy (well not anymore thanks to paleo), and eggs.  My protein of choice for this meal was shrimp, kind of ‘mexicanie’ food, I guess, if you’re desperate enough.

Here it is, if you’re craving Mexican but don’t want to feel bloated and disgusting after, I recommend giving this a try.  It was delicious!  I recommend using all Organic ingredients.  And look at this list!  All whole foods!!

Paleo Stuffed Pablano Peppers w/ Shrimp

Ingredients

  • Pablano Pepper
  • Serrano pepper or jalapeno for a mild spice
  • Cauliflower
  • Onion
  • Green Onion
  • Tomato
  • Garlic Clove
  • Cilantro
  • Shrimp
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Cayanne Pepper
  • Lime
  • Coconut Oil

Homemade Guacamole

  • Avacado
  • Red Onion
  • Garlic
  • Soreno Pepper
  • Tomato
  • Cilantro
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Lime

 

  1. Set oven to broil
  2. Lightly coat the pablano pepper in coconut oil and broil until skin is blackened – about 5-7 minutes
  3. Remove from oven and place in paper bag for 10 minutes
  4. Chop shrimp into bite size pieces
  5. Add salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, a tablespoon or two of chopped cilantro and a squeeze or two of lime
  6. If you’re patient you can leave this in the fridge to marinate or continue on
  7. Add a tsp of coconut oil to a sauté pan at medium heat
  8. Add shrimp until cooked, place on the side
  9. Grate cauliflower using a cheese grater or food processor until chopped small (don’t over process, it will get mushy)
  10. Chop onion, green onion, tomato, garlic clove, and serrano pepper
  11. Add 1 tsp of olive oil to a skillet on medium heat
  12. Add garlic and Serrano pepper and sauté for a moment
  13. Add onion and tomato and sauté for another moment
  14. Add 2 cups of grated cauliflower
  15. Sauté for 5-7 minutes or until cauliflower is soft
  16. Add cooked shrimp to mixture
  17. Take pablano pepper out of the paper bag, remove skin by peeling it off – should remove easily otherwise you didn’t broil it long enough
  18. Gently slice open the pepper and remove the seeds, leaving the stem
  19. Turn on oven to 400 degrees
  20. Stuff the peppers with the cauliflower and shrimp stuffing
  21. Place in oven for 5 minutes or until brown.  I turned my oven on broil since everything was cooked to just give it a brown and reheat the pablano pepper

Guac

  1. Gut the avocado and chop or puree to your liking (some people like it chunky, some people like it smooth)
  2. Add chopped red onion, Serrano pepper, garlic, tomato, ½ – 1 juice of a lime, salt and pepper to taste
  3. Mix and enjoy (yum!!!)

Finally, remove the pepper from the oven, add a tablespoon of guac and eat up.  Yes, I totally was stuffed after and felt like I had a greasy Mexican fiesta, only it was totally balanced and healthy.  As a side note, I could have easily polished off the delicious guac, but be careful with portion.  There was not a lot of oil used in the preparation, so I got the rest of my fat for the meal from the avocado.  Don’t over-do it!

I only had 1 Pablano Pepper so I used the leftovers in a red bell pepper that will be my lunch for today.  Let me know if you give this recipe a try!  I always wonder, do I think the food I eat is yummy just because I’m desperate and “starving”?  Curious.  Enjoy!

