Inside My Head

Posted on November 1, 2012

0


Apples and fish and egg whites and nuts, berries and fish and salad and nuts.  Repeat.  Week two is coming to an end, while there are pros and cons, I can, sometimes, easily say the pros outweigh the cons.  What’s been most interesting to discover on this journey is that the cons are all inside my head.

CrossFit is funny like that.  All doubt, all fear, seems to be self-created, by me, in my head.  I can clean 85lbs no problem.  Throw 5lbs more on each side, suddenly; I’m unable to get under the bar.  I have to walk away, stare, come back, fail, repeat.  Once I finally get under it, it’s not really a big deal.  Somehow, I end up inside my head, creating fear, over thinking, destroying my strength.

Week one on my restricted calorie paleo diet was incredible.  I lost 4 pounds and 2% body fat.  Results like that following 2 consecutive years of losing weight couldn’t be more motivating.  Week two became more difficult.  Why?  Because I got inside my head and told myself a sweet potato was okay and so was one more serving of almonds.  As a self-admitted, self-control in the kitchen failure, I am not the type of girl who can have a house full of goodies without plowing through them.  Paleo has plenty of amazingness that could get me in big trouble.  Restricting my meals to fewer options has been the only way I’ve been able to be successful.

Once I get out of my head and my constant thoughts of food, I can focus on how I’m feeling overall.  Physically, I feel pretty incredible.  Lighter, faster, stronger, healthier.  Clean, unprocessed, organic, real foods are fueling my body and I can totally tell the difference inside and out.  It’s incredible, because I didn’t eat that much different from this before, except for dairy, grain, and peas.  Two weeks after dropping those few ingredients and I can tell significant changes.

Baseline: 1 Mile Timed Run – 7:22

I’m looking forward to the next two weeks.  In order to stay on track I need to make sure all my meals are prepared and easy to grab and eat without room for a single thought.  This will allow me to stay out of my head and focus on the next two weeks.  The goal is so close I can taste it.  Mmmmm, Nov 17, pumpkin chocolate cookies, beer, and Deftones.

And remember, your apple is supposed to turn brown.  Say no to GMOs.  California, vote Yes to Prop 37.  Label genetically modified food (GMOs).

