Goodbye, Beans

Posted on October 17, 2012

1


Directions seem to change often for me.  When they do, I typically become addicted to a path.  Good or bad, I have passion.  Recently, I became a member at Urban WarFit CrossFit in Scottsdale.  In a short 6 week window, I managed to drop 4% body fat, without even trying too hard.  For the first time in my life, I finally stopped paying attention to the scale.  The horrible habit of checking my calories burned and pushing harder to burn 10 more, now, seems ridiculous.  I was working so hard for a body I would never fit into, those you see on TV or in magazines.  The process of learning crossfit has finally enabled me to stop caring what my body looks like and start caring what it feels like and what it’s capable of.  My goals quickly shifted from looks to skills.

Daily, I am surrounded by some amazing athletes.  They sweat piles of hard work, with the look of sheer determination plastered across their faces, pushing through what seems to be impossible.  Daily, I’m impressed, humbled, and inspired. This, partnered with a group of coaches and peers that you don’t want to let down, Urban WarFit has quickly become like a ‘second home’ and a place I love.

One of the biggest challenges when it comes to fitness and an overall healthy lifestyle is the food we eat.  I have struggled with the food part most of my life, but as this project (Fresh Life Now) shows, I’ve finally landed the connection between the two.  It might be physical in the form of extra weight or bad skin, but it also affects us internally.  Not only through physical attributes like cholesterol or blood pressure, but food can have a major effect on our moods.

It’s important to be in tune with yourself.  Being aware of what works with your body is so important.  As you clean up your diet you can easily pin point foods that don’t agree with you, mentally or physically, and doing so, can be life altering.

I’m finally gaining control over my body but my final step is in the food I eat.  WarFit is hosting a 30-day Paleo Challenge.  With the help and encouragement of my nutrition coaches I have a food plan and no excuses.  It starts this Saturday, October 20th.

I’m still learning, but here’s the nutshell version of the Paleo diet.  If a caveman could pick it up and eat it, then you can eat it.  Okay to eat; Eggs, fish, veggies (no, corn is not a veggie), berries, nuts.  Not okay; cheese, quinoa, beans, grains, beer, or wine.

Some of you might be thinking, “What’s the point”.  The point is this.  The human diet has been brutally butchered.  There are additives, processes and poison in almost all of our food.  We have forgotten food is our fuel.  Its purpose is not to induce pleasure, though we can all agree, every once in a while an indulgence is absolutely allowed, we must all agree that it cannot happen on the regular.  We need to get back to the roots of real.  I believe in this movement, I’ve surrendered to the process, and am excited for the journey.

As an “experienced” blogger and a self-proclaimed FaceBook junkie, I, of all people, know that putting my truth out there keeps me on target. Plan on seeing regular updates from me on how my body is reacting to the changes.  Encouragement is welcome and it’s also my hope that someone reading this, might make a change too, take a challenge, know my before and after, and see that anything is possible when you stop making excuses.

