The Human Experiment

Posted on May 18, 2012

0


“Take two and call me in the morning”.  We’ve all heard that once or twice in our time.  Almost three years ago, my cholesterol was exceeding 250 points.  That was an obvious concern, especially when considering the horrible family history of heart disease.  An even more important concern, to me, was the fact that the doctor’s response was to put me on medication;  I was out of shape, overweight, unhealthy and not active or eating the right things.  I was also well aware of these things and in the process of getting started on some serious changes in my life.  I declined the doctor’s prescription and instead told him I was going to start with diet and exercise.

One year ago, I had my cholesterol tested again.  I had lost about 30 pounds and quit smoking.  My diet changed but I had not yet become obsessed with organics or GMO’s.  From my personal perspective, my eating was still considerably dirty.  My number, came in pretty low.  I was so excited about it, 205.  Not bad, especially since I had done it completely free of medication!  Still, the doctor wants my number below 180. And again, I have no interest in the medications.

So, here we are, one year later.  I’m ready to be the subject in a human experiment.  Last week, I had my blood drawn.  I’m waiting for the results, and hopeful that the number comes in even lower with my more recent 20 pounds lost. Within the first couple of weeks of June, I’m going to try a 12-week vegan diet.  Through the recommendation of a friend, I read a book called Thrive, and was inspired to give it a shot.  I’ve seen plenty of the documentaries, such as Forks Over Knives, and am very interested in what living on a plant-based diet can do for me, and my body.  If I’m ever going to get shredded, this is going to be the time.  At the very least, I want to give it a try.  The recipes look pretty delicious, and somehow, over the past month, I became vegetarian without even knowing it.  For those of you who don’t know the difference, Vegan avoids all animal products, while a Vegetarian still eats fish, eggs, dairy, just not animal meat.  I don’t notice a difference and really have not had a desire to eat meat at all.

As I quietly planned this experiment in my head, I had conversations with various people throughout the health care industry (personal trainers, lab techs, etc), and they seem very interested in the results from such an experiment.  Again, after watching so many documentaries that have proven cases of diseases being healed (The Beautiful Truth), I’m ready to give it a try!

I have skeptics, but here’s what I hope to accomplish through this experiment, and it’s not all related to blood!

  1. Reduce cholesterol 20 points
  2. Maintain muscle mass and strength
  3. Lose the final ten pounds I’ve been fighting with
  4. Pull ups!!!!
  5. Learn new ways to cook without meat
  6. Inspire you to try it too, especially if it works

I have one out (that I can think of now, this list is subject to change!)

Priority. My number one priority is to be healthy. I love to work out and have had a couple of people tell me I am not going to have the strength if I go vegan.  If I try this and find that I’m struggling through workouts or losing strength, game off.  I’ve also heard that with my blood type, Vegan does not do well.  Again, if this diet makes me feel any less awesome then I feel right now, game off.

I’ll be sharing my blood results when I get them.  Keep your fingers crossed for me.  I’m a little scared.  Then, we experiment.

Posted in: The Experiment