Strawberry Mint Lemonade

Posted on May 2, 2012

2


Summertime is moments away, with which comes for me, craving of refreshing drinks.  I’m excited to be entering my summer with my first juicer!  Purchased almost four months ago, I only used it a couple of times until recently when I discovered how to recreate The Natural from True Foods kitchen.  My very  favorite drink, I pull out my juicer at least a couple of times a week to make it.  That recipe will come later.  I wanted to try something new in the spirit of a new month that just fell upon us.  What better than fresh strawberry mint lemonade, whose ingredients were ready to be devoured in my kitchen.

I have a saying, that maybe helps me stay healthy and keep processed calories out of my kitchen; “If it doesn’t go bad in two days, don’t eat it”.  Sure, some fresh foods can last longer then that, but anymore then two days you are losing the nutrients and the purpose for consumption.  I know, who has time to go to the store every couple of days.  As you change your health, your habits will change too, and hopefully you can find the time to run in and out of the store for your fresh produce.

All ingredients used are organic or home grown.  Thanks for the lemons, Mom!

Ingredients

  • 5 lemons
  • 2 apples
  • A handful of fresh mint leaves
  • 5 strawberries

Preparation

  1. Peel 2 lemons and leave the skin on the other three.  Quarter all of the lemons.
  2. Core and quarter the apples

Recipe

  1. Juice lemons.
  2. Juice apples.  Leave 1 quarter for juicing in a later step.
  3. Juice mint leaves
  4. Juice strawberries
  5. Juice remaining apple quarter.  The high water content will help push the remaining strawberry juice from the machine.
  6. Mix and serve over ice.

I love lemons.  I like to eat them like an orange, peel and eat.  This was the strongest lemonade I’ve ever tasted.  I had to do one part juice to one part soda water, which actually added a nice refreshing touch.  I still found this drink to be very strong.  Like any juice and really how we should look at everything we consume, I finished a portion to reap the nutritional benefits.  My stomach is on fire, and I do not have a sensitive tummy.  I wonder what I could add to this drink to soften it.  I might try to use two less lemons next time and one more apple.

Juicer

I am using the Waring Pro juicer I got from Bed, Bath, & Beyond for under $200.  I’ve heard that it’s better to go with a machine that presses the food, but mine spins it.  I have a ton of research to do on which juicer is the best, and affordable.  The Waring Pro seems good for light juicing.  This recipe, for example was about five servings.  I really only needed one, so this could serve my purpose.  What I noticed is that the more pulp that is created within the machine, the quicker it is to start vibrating uncontrollably, to the point I have to empty the pulp before I continue.  That’s not ideal.  I’ll likely have a separate blog just about juicers in the coming weeks.  Stay tuned and share feedback if you have a product worth trying!

Why is it good?

Lemons:  Anticancer.  These are a great cancer-fighting source of vitamin C.  The rind of the lemon contains essential oils and nutrients.

Apples:  These have always been a staple in my “diet”.  My trainers always want me eating this kind of fruit because it’s low in sugar.  They are also a diuretic, detoxifying and are known to lower blood cholesterol amongst other things.  Apples help eliminate toxins and are a good source of vitamin A, B, and C.

Strawberries:  Were covered in yesterday’s Overnight Oats post.

Mint:  A liver and gallbladder stimulant, mint delivers better flow of bile to the liver and intestines.  Helps with nausea and vomiting too!  Mint has also been used to treat Crohn’s disease, motion sickness, and cold and flu.

Posted in: Juice